Verstavo
Start free trial No credit card required
Home › Banks › Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company

Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company

Buffalo, NY · FDIC cert 588 · class SM · primary regulator FED · charter STATE · holding company M&T Bank Corp
total assets $218,788mn · band over $100bn · established 1856 · Call Report 2026Q2 · branches from the 2026 Summary of Deposits
The public record, as the regulator reads it. Every number on this page is from an FDIC filing or a public loan-level tape; every line is the regulator's own; nothing is scored, summed or graded. This bank is over neither of SR 06-26's two criteria.
Overview The lines Its market Peers What moves faster Boundaries
Where its branches areBranches as of 30 June 2026 · FDIC Summary of Deposits
A state is filled where this bank has a branch; a bubble is a metro of the CRE spine, sized by how many of the bank's branches are in it. Presence only — a branch is a building in a ZIP, and no dollar is allocated to any place on this map.
States · 14957 branches
Every jurisdiction the Summary of Deposits lists a branch in; the map fills these, and a row the projection cannot draw says so rather than disappearing. The deposit column sums to $172.3B, the deposits booked at domestic branches on 2026-06-30. Deposits are booked to an office, not earned in a market — the largest single booking is Buffalo, NY, 20.0% of the bank's; read the branch counts as the bank's presence, not the dollars.
statebranchesof the bank'sdeposits bookedof deposits
NY 274 28.6% $73.6B 42.7%
MD 152 15.9% $26.8B 15.5%
PA 150 15.7% $16.3B 9.5%
CT 109 11.4% $19.0B 11.0%
NJ 65 6.8% $6.0B 3.5%
MA 62 6.5% $6.2B 3.6%
DE 36 3.8% $15.6B 9.1%
VT 33 3.4% $3.6B 2.1%
VA 25 2.6% $1.2B 0.7%
NH 23 2.4% $1.7B 1.0%
ME 15 1.6% $971M 0.6%
DC 8 0.8% $1.0B 0.6%
FL 3 0.3% $205M 0.1%
WV 2 0.2% $82M 0.0%
The lines · 2026Q2 Call Report
SR 06-26 (the 2006 interagency guidance on CRE concentrations), the Prompt Corrective Action capital lines (12 CFR 324.403) on the filer's own basis, and the FDIC's brokered-deposit line (12 CFR 327.16). A value on the far side of its line is colored; that is the whole of what a crossed line means here.
linethis bankthe linethe rule
Investor CRE / total risk-based capital 104%
total 149%
≥ 300% construction, multifamily and non-owner-occupied nonfarm nonresidential over total risk-based capital — the first half of criterion 2; owner-occupied excluded, as the guidance excludes it. "Total" beneath adds it back.
Construction & land loans / capital 14.4% ≥ 100% construction, land development and other land loans over total risk-based capital — criterion 1 of the 2006 interagency guidance
CRE book growth, 36 months -27.4% ≥ 50% the supervisory CRE book (owner-occupied excluded) against the same bank twelve quarters earlier — the second half of criterion 2, which the 300% line alone does not state
Total risk-based capital ratio 13.9% < 10% total risk-based capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 10%, adequately at 8%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported
Tier 1 risk-based capital ratio 11.8% < 8% tier 1 capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 8%, adequately at 6%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported
Tier 1 leverage ratio 9.5% < 5% tier 1 capital over average assets; well capitalized at 5% for a risk-based filer, and the CBLR framework's own 9% line for a leverage-only filer
Brokered deposits / assets 3.4% ≥ 10% brokered deposits over total assets; above 10% they begin to count in the FDIC's assessment formula (12 CFR 327.16)
Criterion 1 is construction at or above 100% of capital: not over. Criterion 2 is BOTH halves — investor CRE at or above 300% of capital AND the book grown 50% or more in 36 months (from the tape's own quarter, 2023Q2): not over. Capital is read on the risk-based basis this bank files on.
Its market · branches as of 30 June 2026
A branch is a building in a ZIP (FDIC Summary of Deposits); no dollar is allocated to any metro. For each metro this bank has a branch in: the Hotspots reading (retail and office, each elevated or not against a bar set at the top quartile of the 298 metros with both readings — a relative cut, not a regulator's line), the public CMBS tape in the metro, and the counts behind the doors. 46 metros, by branch count.
152 branches · 16% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
2,401 loans
3.5% distressed · retail 3.7% · office 6.8%
Behind the door
616 on the forward watch
$16,990mn not yet in special servicing · 76 in special servicing with commentary · 77 WARN notices in 90 days (8,461 jobs)
86 branches · 9% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
78 loans
2.6% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 6.7%
Behind the door
14 on the forward watch
$227mn not yet in special servicing · 3 in special servicing with commentary · 19 WARN notices in 90 days (1,944 jobs)
69 branches · 7% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
239 loans
3.4% distressed · retail 2.8% · office 5.4%
Behind the door
55 on the forward watch
$2,115mn not yet in special servicing · 12 in special servicing with commentary · 29 WARN notices in 90 days (2,373 jobs)
51 branches · 5% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
67 loans
1.5% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 6.3%
Behind the door
23 on the forward watch
$1,428mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 18 WARN notices in 90 days (1,228 jobs)
48 branches · 5% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail & office
retail elevated · office elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
30 loans
3.4% distressed · retail 16.3% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
8 on the forward watch
$94mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 4 WARN notices in 90 days (79 jobs)
38 branches · 4% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail only read
retail elevated · office not read · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
28 loans
1.2% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
5 on the forward watch
$117mn not yet in special servicing · 4 in special servicing with commentary · 0 WARN notices in 90 days
37 branches · 4% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
260 loans
4.6% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 4.2%
Behind the door
80 on the forward watch
$2,315mn not yet in special servicing · 15 in special servicing with commentary · 17 WARN notices in 90 days (4,367 jobs)
36 branches · 4% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail only read
retail elevated · office not read
CMBS in the metro
34 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
11 on the forward watch
$395mn not yet in special servicing · 3 in special servicing with commentary · 2 WARN notices in 90 days (143 jobs)
28 branches · 3% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
34 loans
14.8% distressed · retail 31.8% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
6 on the forward watch
$144mn not yet in special servicing · 4 in special servicing with commentary · 2 WARN notices in 90 days (25 jobs)
28 branches · 3% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
18 loans
5.5% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 40.0%
Behind the door
3 on the forward watch
$27mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 1 WARN notice in 90 days
York-Hanover, PA
24 branches · 2% of the bank's · no public metro page
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
10 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0%
Behind the door
1 on the forward watch
$3mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 0 WARN notices in 90 days
19 branches · 2% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
27 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0%
Behind the door
2 on the forward watch
$9mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 0 WARN notices in 90 days
The remaining 34 metros, by branch count — the same reading, one row each:
metrobrancheshotspots cellCMBS loansdistressedon the watch
Kiryas Joel-Poughkeepsie-Newburgh, NY 18 retail & office 19 0.0% 5
New Haven, CT 16 retail only read 19 10.4% 3
Portland-South Portland, ME 15 retail 5 0.0% 2
Albany-Schenectady-Troy, NY 14 retail 23 0.0% 7
Springfield, MA 13 neither 6 0.0% 1
Reading, PA 13 neither 11 0.0% 1
Binghamton, NY 12 office 4 24.6% 1
Chambersburg, PA 12 office 7 0.0% 3
Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA 11 retail 8 12.7% 2
Burlington-South Burlington, VT 10 neither 11 0.0% 4
Waterbury-Shelton, CT 10 retail only read 13 0.0% 3
Utica-Rome, NY 10 retail 8 0.0% 3
Hagerstown-Martinsburg, MD-WV 9 neither 7 0.0% 3
Lancaster, PA 8 retail 13 0.0% 1
Norwich-New London-Willimantic, CT 7 retail only read 6 0.0% 1
Altoona, PA 6 neither 3 0.0% 0
Manchester-Nashua, NH 6 neither 4 26.1% 1
Worcester, MA 6 retail 12 0.0% 2
Kingston, NY 5 neither 5 19.8% 0
Dover, DE 4 retail only read 3 0.0% 1
Williamsport, PA 4 office 0 0.0% 0
State College, PA 4 retail 3 0.0% 0
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ 4 retail 32 0.0% 10
Richmond, VA 4 retail only read 50 2.0% 9
Salisbury, MD 3 retail & office 5 0.0% 0
Ithaca, NY 2 neither 2 0.0% 1
Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL 2 retail 263 0.8% 57
Lexington Park, MD 2 neither 5 0.0% 1
Gettysburg, PA 2 neither 2 0.0% 0
Amherst Town-Northampton, MA 2 neither — — 0
Lebanon, PA 1 neither 3 0.0% 0
Trenton-Princeton, NJ 1 neither 23 2.2% 8
Elmira, NY 1 retail 1 0.0% 0
Naples-Marco Island, FL 1 neither 8 0.0% 0
103 of the bank's 957 branches (11%) sit outside every metro the tape reads; nothing is printed for them.
Peers · the same asset band, nationally and in New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ
Every cohort is inside an asset band (over $100bn), because size moves the concentration ratios more than anything else does. A position is an interval — the share of the cohort below this bank and the share at or below it differ by the tie — and below 10 banks nothing is ranked.
over $100bn, nationally
32 banks
Investor CRE / capital
91–94th pct
29 below · 1 at the same value · 2 above
Construction / capital
72–75th pct
23 below · 1 at the same value · 8 above
over $100bn, in New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ
18 banks
Investor CRE / capital
89–94th pct
16 below · 1 at the same value · 1 above
Construction / capital
83–89th pct
15 below · 1 at the same value · 2 above
banks with a branch in this metro, from the 2026 Summary of Deposits. This metro holds 152 of the bank's 957 branches (16%), and 103 are outside any metro area; the bank operates in 46 metros.
Of the 32 banks in the over $100bn band nationally, over each line: Construction at or above 100% of capital — criterion 1 — 0 of 32 (0.0%); CRE at or above 300% of capital — 0 of 32 (0.0%); ... and the book grew 50% or more in 36 months — criterion 2 — 0 of 32 (0.0%); Over either criterion — 0 of 32 (0.0%); Total risk-based capital below 10% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 32 (0.0%); Tier 1 risk-based capital below 8% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 32 (0.0%); Tier 1 leverage below 5% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 32 (0.0%); Below a well-capitalized line, on the filer's own basis — 0 of 32 (0.0%); Brokered deposits at or above 10% of assets — 7 of 32 (21.9%).
What moves faster than the Call Report
Forward transfer-risk watch
954 loans
$26,708mn in this bank's metros scored High or Elevated for transfer to special servicing within two quarters, not yet transferred. The loans are the door.door
In special servicing, with commentary
131 loans
the servicer's own filed narrative, loan by loan. The narratives are the door.door
WARN notices, 90 days
221 notices
24,316 jobs, in this bank's metros, under review. The employers and addresses are the door.door
The four bank lenses
Franchise · Strain · Mark · Consolidation
every bank against every line, the franchise gradient, the mark on the book, the consolidation clock — this bank placed on each.door
Watch dossier
none
no watch dossier has been written for this bank; the absence is a fact about the watchlist, not about the bank.
Boundaries
See the whole picture, not just the call report.
These pages publish what every bank files about its commercial real estate book, quarter by quarter. The platform goes inside the filing: concentration against the supervisory lines, loan modifications, where the risk moved when it left the balance sheet, and how much room each of your lenders has left.
Get started free → Sign in No credit card required