Western Alliance Bank
Phoenix, AZ · FDIC cert 57512
· class SM
· primary regulator FED
· charter STATE
· holding company Western Alliance Bcorp
total assets $98,569mn
· band $10-100bn
· established 2003
· Call Report 2026Q2 · branches from the 2025 Summary of Deposits
The public record, as the regulator reads it. Every number on this page is from an FDIC filing
or a public loan-level tape; every line is the regulator's own; nothing is scored, summed or graded.
This bank is over neither of SR 06-26's two criteria.
The lines · 2026Q2 Call Report
SR 06-26 (the 2006 interagency guidance on CRE concentrations), the Prompt Corrective Action capital lines
(12 CFR 324.403) on the filer's own basis, and the FDIC's brokered-deposit line (12 CFR 327.16). A value on the far
side of its line is colored; that is the whole of what a crossed line means here.
| line | this bank | the line | the rule |
| Investor CRE / total risk-based capital |
161% total 178% |
≥ 300% |
construction, multifamily and non-owner-occupied nonfarm nonresidential over total risk-based capital — the first half of criterion 2; owner-occupied excluded, as the guidance excludes it. "Total" beneath adds it back. |
| Construction & land loans / capital |
46.0% |
≥ 100% |
construction, land development and other land loans over total risk-based capital — criterion 1 of the 2006 interagency guidance |
| CRE book growth, 36 months |
-0.3% |
≥ 50% |
the supervisory CRE book (owner-occupied excluded) against the same bank twelve quarters earlier — the second half of criterion 2, which the 300% line alone does not state |
| Total risk-based capital ratio |
13.4% |
< 10% |
total risk-based capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 10%, adequately at 8%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported |
| Tier 1 risk-based capital ratio |
12.0% |
< 8% |
tier 1 capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 8%, adequately at 6%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported |
| Tier 1 leverage ratio |
8.1% |
< 5% |
tier 1 capital over average assets; well capitalized at 5% for a risk-based filer, and the CBLR framework's own 9% line for a leverage-only filer |
| Brokered deposits / assets |
15.7% |
≥ 10% |
brokered deposits over total assets; above 10% they begin to count in the FDIC's assessment formula (12 CFR 327.16) |
Criterion 1 is construction at or above 100% of capital:
not over.
Criterion 2 is BOTH halves — investor CRE at or above 300% of capital AND the book grown 50% or more in 36 months
(from the tape's own quarter, 2023Q2):
not over.
Capital is read on the risk-based basis this bank files on.
Its market · branches as of 30 June 2025
A branch is a building in a ZIP (FDIC Summary of Deposits); no dollar is allocated to any metro. For each metro this bank has a branch in:
the Hotspots reading (retail and office, each elevated or not against a bar set at the top quartile of the 294 metros with both readings — a relative cut, not a regulator's line),
the public CMBS tape in the metro, and the counts behind the doors.
13 metros, by branch count.
10 branches · 27% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
190 loans
0.5% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 2.0%
Behind the door
37 on the forward watch
$554mn not yet in special servicing · 2 in special servicing with commentary · 0 WARN notices in 90 days
6 branches · 16% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
225 loans
0.4% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 2.1%
Behind the door
35 on the forward watch
$686mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 19 WARN notices in 90 days (1,377 jobs)
6 branches · 16% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
147 loans
0.7% distressed · retail 2.9% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
28 on the forward watch
$685mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 14 WARN notices in 90 days (777 jobs)
3 branches · 8% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
37 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
5 on the forward watch
$70mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 0 WARN notices in 90 days
2 branches · 5% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
665 loans
3.2% distressed · retail 0.7% · office 4.7%
Behind the door
166 on the forward watch
$4,996mn not yet in special servicing · 30 in special servicing with commentary · 45 WARN notices in 90 days (4,143 jobs)
2 branches · 5% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail & office
retail elevated · office elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
62 loans
1.6% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 20.0%
Behind the door
7 on the forward watch
$72mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 3 WARN notices in 90 days (198 jobs)
1 branch · 3% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
100 loans
1.0% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 1.5%
Behind the door
33 on the forward watch
$2,286mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 36 WARN notices in 90 days (3,093 jobs)
1 branch · 3% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
222 loans
4.9% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 9.9%
Behind the door
70 on the forward watch
$2,690mn not yet in special servicing · 12 in special servicing with commentary · 44 WARN notices in 90 days (6,295 jobs)
1 branch · 3% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail & office
retail elevated · office elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
407 loans
7.9% distressed · retail 3.6% · office 20.3%
Behind the door
80 on the forward watch
$2,186mn not yet in special servicing · 31 in special servicing with commentary · 26 WARN notices in 90 days (3,695 jobs)
1 branch · 3% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
2,539 loans
3.3% distressed · retail 3.9% · office 7.1%
Behind the door
645 on the forward watch
$16,922mn not yet in special servicing · 79 in special servicing with commentary · 70 WARN notices in 90 days (9,283 jobs)
Flagstaff, AZ
1 branch · 3% of the bank's · no public metro page
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
4 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0%
Behind the door
0 on the forward watch
no loan on the watch, none in special servicing with commentary, no WARN notice in 90 days
1 branch · 3% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
106 loans
3.8% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 13.0%
Behind the door
19 on the forward watch
$511mn not yet in special servicing · 10 in special servicing with commentary · 7 WARN notices in 90 days (401 jobs)
The remaining 1 metros, by branch count — the same reading, one row each:
| metro | branches | hotspots cell | CMBS loans | distressed | on the watch |
| Carson City, NV |
1 |
neither |
5 |
0.0% |
0 |
1 of the bank's 37 branches (3%) sit outside every metro the tape reads; nothing is printed for them.
Peers · the same asset band, nationally and in Las Vegas-Henderson-North Las Vegas, NV
Every cohort is inside an asset band ($10-100bn), because size moves the concentration ratios more than anything else does. A position is an interval —
the share of the cohort below this bank and the share at or below it differ by the tie — and below 10 banks nothing is ranked.
$10-100bn, nationally
133 banks
Investor CRE / capital
32–33th pct
41 below · 1 at the same value · 85 above
Construction / capital
65th pct
82 below · 1 at the same value · 44 above
$10-100bn, in Las Vegas-Henderson-North Las Vegas, NV
14 banks
Investor CRE / capital
43–50th pct
6 below · 1 at the same value · 7 above
Construction / capital
86–93th pct
12 below · 1 at the same value · 1 above
banks with a branch in this metro, from the 2025 Summary of Deposits. This metro holds 10 of the bank's 37 branches (27%), and 1 is outside any metro area; the bank operates in 13 metros.
Of the 133 banks in the $10-100bn band nationally, over each line:
Construction at or above 100% of capital — criterion 1 — 2 of 127 (1.6%); CRE at or above 300% of capital — 15 of 127 (11.8%); ... and the book grew 50% or more in 36 months — criterion 2 — 4 of 127 (3.1%); Over either criterion — 6 of 127 (4.7%); Total risk-based capital below 10% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Tier 1 risk-based capital below 8% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Tier 1 leverage below 5% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Below a well-capitalized line, on the filer's own basis — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Brokered deposits at or above 10% of assets — 16 of 127 (12.6%).
What moves faster than the Call Report
Forward transfer-risk watch
1,125 loans
$31,657mn in this bank's metros scored High or Elevated for transfer to special servicing within two quarters, not yet transferred. The loans are the door.door
In special servicing, with commentary
166 loans
the servicer's own filed narrative, loan by loan. The narratives are the door.door
WARN notices, 90 days
264 notices
29,262 jobs, in this bank's metros, under review. The employers and addresses are the door.door
The four bank lenses
Franchise · Strain · Mark · Consolidation
every bank against every line, the franchise gradient, the mark on the book, the consolidation clock — this bank placed on each.door
Watch dossier
none
no watch dossier has been written for this bank; the absence is a fact about the watchlist, not about the bank.
Boundaries
- The Call Report carries no collateral geography. The footprint is where the branches are (FDIC Summary of Deposits, 30 June 2025), not where the loans are.
- The regulator's lines are absolute (SR 06-26, 12 CFR 324.403, 12 CFR 327.16) and read on the 2026Q2 Call Report; the 36-month growth is from the tape's own quarter, 2023Q2.
- Owner-occupied commercial real estate is excluded from criterion 2, as SR 06-26 excludes it.
- The Hotspots cell is a relative cut — the top quartile of the 294 metros with both readings on each lens (snapshot 2026-09-15) — not a line of any regulator's.
- A capital ratio is read on the filer's own basis (risk-based); a CBLR filer reports no risk-based ratio and none is inferred.
- This page is rebuilt nightly from stored filings; generated 2026-09-16. Banks under the Call Report tape's $100mn floor have no page.
See the whole picture, not just the pulse.
Metro Pulse is the free, public read. The Verstavo platform goes loan‑by‑loan — stress
scores, maturity walls, special‑servicing transfers, bank CRE, and your own portfolio benchmarked
against the market.