Verstavo
Start free trial
HomeBanks › First Bank

First Bank

Southern Pines, NC · FDIC cert 15019 · class SM · primary regulator FED · charter STATE · holding company First Bcorp
total assets $13,032mn · band $10-100bn · established 1934 · Call Report 2026Q2 · branches from the 2025 Summary of Deposits
The public record, as the regulator reads it. Every number on this page is from an FDIC filing or a public loan-level tape; every line is the regulator's own; nothing is scored, summed or graded. This bank is over neither of SR 06-26's two criteria.
The lines · 2026Q2 Call Report
SR 06-26 (the 2006 interagency guidance on CRE concentrations), the Prompt Corrective Action capital lines (12 CFR 324.403) on the filer's own basis, and the FDIC's brokered-deposit line (12 CFR 327.16). A value on the far side of its line is colored; that is the whole of what a crossed line means here.
linethis bankthe linethe rule
Investor CRE / total risk-based capital 280%
total 366%
≥ 300% construction, multifamily and non-owner-occupied nonfarm nonresidential over total risk-based capital — the first half of criterion 2; owner-occupied excluded, as the guidance excludes it. "Total" beneath adds it back.
Construction & land loans / capital 53.9% ≥ 100% construction, land development and other land loans over total risk-based capital — criterion 1 of the 2006 interagency guidance
CRE book growth, 36 months 14.0% ≥ 50% the supervisory CRE book (owner-occupied excluded) against the same bank twelve quarters earlier — the second half of criterion 2, which the 300% line alone does not state
Total risk-based capital ratio 15.9% < 10% total risk-based capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 10%, adequately at 8%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported
Tier 1 risk-based capital ratio 14.7% < 8% tier 1 capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 8%, adequately at 6%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported
Tier 1 leverage ratio 11.5% < 5% tier 1 capital over average assets; well capitalized at 5% for a risk-based filer, and the CBLR framework's own 9% line for a leverage-only filer
Brokered deposits / assets 0.0% ≥ 10% brokered deposits over total assets; above 10% they begin to count in the FDIC's assessment formula (12 CFR 327.16)
Criterion 1 is construction at or above 100% of capital: not over. Criterion 2 is BOTH halves — investor CRE at or above 300% of capital AND the book grown 50% or more in 36 months (from the tape's own quarter, 2023Q2): not over. Capital is read on the risk-based basis this bank files on.
Its market · branches as of 30 June 2025
A branch is a building in a ZIP (FDIC Summary of Deposits); no dollar is allocated to any metro. For each metro this bank has a branch in: the Hotspots reading (retail and office, each elevated or not against a bar set at the top quartile of the 294 metros with both readings — a relative cut, not a regulator's line), the public CMBS tape in the metro, and the counts behind the doors. 17 metros, by branch count.
Pinehurst-Southern Pines, NC
11 branches · 10% of the bank's · no public metro page
Hotspots cell
office only read
retail not read · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
2 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0%
Behind the door
0 on the forward watch
no loan on the watch, none in special servicing with commentary, no WARN notice in 90 days
11 branches · 10% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
office
retail not elevated · office elevated
CMBS in the metro
23 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
0 on the forward watch
$0mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 1 WARN notice in 90 days
10 branches · 9% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
retail
retail elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
33 loans
3.0% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 28.8%
Behind the door
5 on the forward watch
$41mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 0 WARN notices in 90 days
Wilmington, NC
9 branches · 8% of the bank's · no public metro page
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
10 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0%
Behind the door
1 on the forward watch
$2mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 0 WARN notices in 90 days
9 branches · 8% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated · WARN-corroborated
CMBS in the metro
116 loans
2.6% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 8.2%
Behind the door
23 on the forward watch
$581mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 6 WARN notices in 90 days (106 jobs)
5 branches · 4% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
31 loans
3.7% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
5 on the forward watch
$104mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 8 WARN notices in 90 days (2,913 jobs)
5 branches · 4% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
office
retail not elevated · office elevated
CMBS in the metro
25 loans
4.0% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
4 on the forward watch
$87mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 0 WARN notices in 90 days
3 branches · 3% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
42 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
8 on the forward watch
$130mn not yet in special servicing · 0 in special servicing with commentary · 2 WARN notices in 90 days (370 jobs)
Jacksonville, NC
2 branches · 2% of the bank's · no public metro page
Hotspots cell
office only read
retail not read · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
7 loans
14.2% distressed · retail 0.0%
Behind the door
0 on the forward watch
no loan on the watch, none in special servicing with commentary, no WARN notice in 90 days
2 branches · 2% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
26 loans
11.4% distressed · retail 13.5% · office 38.9%
Behind the door
4 on the forward watch
$170mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 0 WARN notices in 90 days
Florence, SC
1 branch · 1% of the bank's · no public metro page
Hotspots cell
office
retail not elevated · office elevated
CMBS in the metro
3 loans
0.0% distressed · retail 0.0%
Behind the door
0 on the forward watch
no loan on the watch, none in special servicing with commentary, no WARN notice in 90 days
1 branch · 1% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
office only read
retail not read · office elevated
CMBS in the metro
18 loans
5.4% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 0.0%
Behind the door
5 on the forward watch
$115mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 2 WARN notices in 90 days (73 jobs)
The remaining 5 metros, by branch count — the same reading, one row each:
metrobrancheshotspots cellCMBS loansdistressedon the watch
Greenville, NC 1 office only read 2 0.0% 0
Burlington, NC 1 office only read 6 0.0% 0
Goldsboro, NC 1 neither 2 0.0% 1
Charleston-North Charleston, SC 1 neither 32 0.0% 2
Columbia, SC 1 retail 32 0.0% 9
40 of the bank's 114 branches (35%) sit outside every metro the tape reads; nothing is printed for them.
Peers · the same asset band, nationally and in Asheville, NC
Every cohort is inside an asset band ($10-100bn), because size moves the concentration ratios more than anything else does. A position is an interval — the share of the cohort below this bank and the share at or below it differ by the tie — and below 10 banks nothing is ranked.
$10-100bn, nationally
133 banks
Investor CRE / capital
83–84th pct
106 below · 1 at the same value · 20 above
Construction / capital
80–81th pct
102 below · 1 at the same value · 24 above
$10-100bn, in Asheville, NC
8 banks · below the 10-bank floor, not ranked
8 banks share this cohort, this bank among them; at that size the honest answer is a list, not a percentile. The names are in the app.door
banks with a branch in this metro, from the 2025 Summary of Deposits. This metro holds 11 of the bank's 114 branches (10%), and 40 are outside any metro area; the bank operates in 17 metros.
Of the 133 banks in the $10-100bn band nationally, over each line: Construction at or above 100% of capital — criterion 1 — 2 of 127 (1.6%); CRE at or above 300% of capital — 15 of 127 (11.8%); ... and the book grew 50% or more in 36 months — criterion 2 — 4 of 127 (3.1%); Over either criterion — 6 of 127 (4.7%); Total risk-based capital below 10% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Tier 1 risk-based capital below 8% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Tier 1 leverage below 5% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Below a well-capitalized line, on the filer's own basis — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Brokered deposits at or above 10% of assets — 16 of 127 (12.6%).
What moves faster than the Call Report
Forward transfer-risk watch
67 loans
$1,402mn in this bank's metros scored High or Elevated for transfer to special servicing within two quarters, not yet transferred. The loans are the door.door
In special servicing, with commentary
5 loans
the servicer's own filed narrative, loan by loan. The narratives are the door.door
WARN notices, 90 days
25 notices
4,371 jobs, in this bank's metros, under review. The employers and addresses are the door.door
The four bank lenses
Franchise · Strain · Mark · Consolidation
every bank against every line, the franchise gradient, the mark on the book, the consolidation clock — this bank placed on each.door
Watch dossier
none
no watch dossier has been written for this bank; the absence is a fact about the watchlist, not about the bank.
Boundaries
See the whole picture, not just the pulse.
Metro Pulse is the free, public read. The Verstavo platform goes loan‑by‑loan — stress scores, maturity walls, special‑servicing transfers, bank CRE, and your own portfolio benchmarked against the market.
Get started free → Sign in