Sallie Mae Bank
Salt Lake City, UT · FDIC cert 58177
· class NM
· primary regulator FDIC
· charter STATE
total assets $28,541mn
· band $10-100bn
· established 2005
· Call Report 2026Q2 · branches from the 2025 Summary of Deposits
The public record, as the regulator reads it. Every number on this page is from an FDIC filing
or a public loan-level tape; every line is the regulator's own; nothing is scored, summed or graded.
This bank is over neither of SR 06-26's two criteria.
The lines · 2026Q2 Call Report
SR 06-26 (the 2006 interagency guidance on CRE concentrations), the Prompt Corrective Action capital lines
(12 CFR 324.403) on the filer's own basis, and the FDIC's brokered-deposit line (12 CFR 327.16). A value on the far
side of its line is colored; that is the whole of what a crossed line means here.
| line | this bank | the line | the rule |
| Investor CRE / total risk-based capital |
0% total 0% |
≥ 300% |
construction, multifamily and non-owner-occupied nonfarm nonresidential over total risk-based capital — the first half of criterion 2; owner-occupied excluded, as the guidance excludes it. "Total" beneath adds it back. |
| Construction & land loans / capital |
0.0% |
≥ 100% |
construction, land development and other land loans over total risk-based capital — criterion 1 of the 2006 interagency guidance |
| CRE book growth, 36 months |
-100.0% |
≥ 50% |
the supervisory CRE book (owner-occupied excluded) against the same bank twelve quarters earlier — the second half of criterion 2, which the 300% line alone does not state |
| Total risk-based capital ratio |
13.1% |
< 10% |
total risk-based capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 10%, adequately at 8%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported |
| Tier 1 risk-based capital ratio |
11.8% |
< 8% |
tier 1 capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 8%, adequately at 6%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported |
| Tier 1 leverage ratio |
10.2% |
< 5% |
tier 1 capital over average assets; well capitalized at 5% for a risk-based filer, and the CBLR framework's own 9% line for a leverage-only filer |
| Brokered deposits / assets |
28.9% |
≥ 10% |
brokered deposits over total assets; above 10% they begin to count in the FDIC's assessment formula (12 CFR 327.16) |
Criterion 1 is construction at or above 100% of capital:
not over.
Criterion 2 is BOTH halves — investor CRE at or above 300% of capital AND the book grown 50% or more in 36 months
(from the tape's own quarter, 2023Q2):
not over.
Capital is read on the risk-based basis this bank files on.
Its market · branches as of 30 June 2025
A branch is a building in a ZIP (FDIC Summary of Deposits); no dollar is allocated to any metro. For each metro this bank has a branch in:
the Hotspots reading (retail and office, each elevated or not against a bar set at the top quartile of the 294 metros with both readings — a relative cut, not a regulator's line),
the public CMBS tape in the metro, and the counts behind the doors.
1 branch · 100% of the bank's
Hotspots cell
neither
retail not elevated · office not elevated
CMBS in the metro
46 loans
2.2% distressed · retail 0.0% · office 7.1%
Behind the door
13 on the forward watch
$256mn not yet in special servicing · 1 in special servicing with commentary · 1 WARN notice in 90 days
Peers · the same asset band, nationally and in Salt Lake City-Murray, UT
Every cohort is inside an asset band ($10-100bn), because size moves the concentration ratios more than anything else does. A position is an interval —
the share of the cohort below this bank and the share at or below it differ by the tie — and below 10 banks nothing is ranked.
$10-100bn, nationally
133 banks
Investor CRE / capital
0–6th pct
0 below · 7 at the same value · 120 above
Construction / capital
0–11th pct
0 below · 14 at the same value · 113 above
$10-100bn, in Salt Lake City-Murray, UT
11 banks
Investor CRE / capital
0–18th pct
0 below · 2 at the same value · 9 above
Construction / capital
0–45th pct
0 below · 5 at the same value · 6 above
banks with a branch in this metro, from the 2025 Summary of Deposits. This metro holds 1 of the bank's 1 branches (100%); the bank operates in 1 metro.
Of the 133 banks in the $10-100bn band nationally, over each line:
Construction at or above 100% of capital — criterion 1 — 2 of 127 (1.6%); CRE at or above 300% of capital — 15 of 127 (11.8%); ... and the book grew 50% or more in 36 months — criterion 2 — 4 of 127 (3.1%); Over either criterion — 6 of 127 (4.7%); Total risk-based capital below 10% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Tier 1 risk-based capital below 8% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Tier 1 leverage below 5% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Below a well-capitalized line, on the filer's own basis — 0 of 127 (0.0%); Brokered deposits at or above 10% of assets — 16 of 127 (12.6%).
What moves faster than the Call Report
Forward transfer-risk watch
13 loans
$256mn in this bank's metros scored High or Elevated for transfer to special servicing within two quarters, not yet transferred. The loans are the door.door
In special servicing, with commentary
1 loan
the servicer's own filed narrative, loan by loan. The narratives are the door.door
WARN notices, 90 days
1 notice
0 jobs, in this bank's metros, under review. The employers and addresses are the door.door
The four bank lenses
Franchise · Strain · Mark · Consolidation
every bank against every line, the franchise gradient, the mark on the book, the consolidation clock — this bank placed on each.door
Watch dossier
none
no watch dossier has been written for this bank; the absence is a fact about the watchlist, not about the bank.
Boundaries
- The Call Report carries no collateral geography. The footprint is where the branches are (FDIC Summary of Deposits, 30 June 2025), not where the loans are.
- The regulator's lines are absolute (SR 06-26, 12 CFR 324.403, 12 CFR 327.16) and read on the 2026Q2 Call Report; the 36-month growth is from the tape's own quarter, 2023Q2.
- Owner-occupied commercial real estate is excluded from criterion 2, as SR 06-26 excludes it.
- The Hotspots cell is a relative cut — the top quartile of the 294 metros with both readings on each lens (snapshot 2026-09-15) — not a line of any regulator's.
- A capital ratio is read on the filer's own basis (risk-based); a CBLR filer reports no risk-based ratio and none is inferred.
- This page is rebuilt nightly from stored filings; generated 2026-09-16. Banks under the Call Report tape's $100mn floor have no page.
See the whole picture, not just the pulse.
Metro Pulse is the free, public read. The Verstavo platform goes loan‑by‑loan — stress
scores, maturity walls, special‑servicing transfers, bank CRE, and your own portfolio benchmarked
against the market.