Verstavo
Start free trial No credit card required
← All markets · The national picture →

Commercial Real Estate Credit —
Lexington-Fayette, KY

The state of disclosed CRE credit in this market · KY
The read
$471M of CMBS across 24 loans. The heaviest maturity load lands in 2029 ($195M, 41% of the book). Multifamily is the largest book ($160M, 0.0% distressed). 10 on-the-ground distress events in the past year (1,975 jobs).
Overview
CMBS
Submarkets
Local Banks
Jobs & Demand
On The Ground
Loading map…
The CMBS properties our stress model flags here, plus recent store closures and layoffs. Stressed is a wider net than distressed — the distressed figure above counts only loans already in special servicing or 60+ days delinquent, while these dots also include performing loans facing maturity or coverage pressure. Property dots sit at the center of their ZIP code, not the building — they show where stress concentrates, not which asset. Closures and layoffs are pinned to address where we have it. Open any dot to the building and the loan behind it →
CMBS Distressed UPB
Not reported fewer than 3 loans are distressed here, too few for the share to be a rate — the book size and loan count above are unaffected
CMBS Maturing ≤ 24mo
$32M
Banks HQ’d Here (stressed)
0 / 7
Bank Early-Warning
0 flagged
Store Closures (1y)
4
Layoff Notices (1y)
6 / 1,975 jobs 0.85% of metro employment
CMBS Loans / UPB
24 / $471M
Unemployment · Aug 2026
3.6% -0.2pp yr

How much CRE distress is there in Lexington-Fayette, KY right now?

In Lexington-Fayette, KY, CRE distress is currently quiet across all four independent feeds. Store closures sit at 5 closures, with a rate of 2.15 per 100k jobs (ranked 83rd by count, 154th by rate out of 392 metros). WARN layoff notices are at 5 notices, a 0.73% rate (96th by count, 14th by rate out of 386). Bank CRE over the noncurrent line is $90.5mm, a 1.14% rate (171st by count, 285th by rate out of 393), though only 16.0% of these dollars sit at banks that lend in one metro and need no allocation. Securitized loans in special servicing read $391.0mm in balance, with 0 rows and a 0.0% rate (220th by both out of 335). All six pairwise comparisons agree on quietness — none show elevation, none disagree — indicating no single mechanism (retail failure, large-employer distress, lender stress, or CMBS trouble) is running hot here. Notably, the CMBS leg is tightest to the property and shows zero distress, and WARN, a legal filing rather than an observation, is also silent.

The figures behind this answer
SignalLevel Rate Rank by count Rank by rate Reading
store closures
store closures per 100,000 jobs
5 closures 2.15 per 100k jobs 83 of 392 154 of 392 quiet
trailing 365 days to today
layoff notices (WARN)
workers on layoff notices as a share of the metro's employment
5 notices 0.73% 96 of 386 14 of 386 quiet
trailing 365 days to today
bank CRE at lenders over the noncurrent line
share of the CRE lent into this metro that sits at a lender over the blended-noncurrent line
$90.5mm 1.14% 171 of 393 285 of 393 quiet
allocated
2026-03-31
securitized loans in special servicing
share of the securitized balance read here that is in special servicing
0 loan records 0% 220 of 335 220 of 335 quiet
2026-07-29
6 pairs compared 0 both elevated 6 both quiet 0 disagreeing 0 unreadable — a side is blind 0 of four legs elevated
one metro, four independent feeds, each on its own denominator
114 of 441 metros have at least one blind leg and 48 are blind on all four. Those 48 are the same metros the board's map cannot place and the metro resolver cannot name: one ZIP-to-CBSA crosswalk boundary, showing up three ways.
Elevation is computed on the COUNT, over a flat threshold, which is a size filter. New York is 2nd of 392 by store closures and 264th of the same 392 by closures per job — both true, and which one you lead with decides what the reader believes.
Where two legs disagree, that is usually a fact about WHICH mechanism is running, not an error in either feed and not a worse metro.
A leg with no denominator, or whose numerator cannot be measured, reads LOW and means nothing. Each leg publishes a measurement state (allocated, floor, measured, no denominator, no rate, not measurable) for that reason.
Store closures: divided by 232,176 jobs — all metro jobs, QCEW annual average — a SIZE normaliser, not a matched population: the feed spans retail, food service and pharmacy and no single QCEW sector covers it. The MATCHED read sits beside it as this leg's second reading (trailing 365 days to today).
Layoff notices (WARN): divided by 269,752 employed — employed persons, BLS LAUS, not seasonally adjusted (trailing 365 days to today).
Bank CRE at lenders over the noncurrent line: divided by $7,962.7 mm — bank CRE allocated to this metro by branch deposits (2026-03-31).
Securitized loans in special servicing: divided by $391.0 mm — current balance on the non-pari-passu rows of this tape — the trust's slice, not the whole loan, on both sides of the ratio (2026-07-29).
Written from the figures above · CBSA 30460 · stress_metro · last changed 28 Aug 2026 · Ask your own question →
Jobs & Demand — the labor market under the collateralWatch it change →
Every other zone on this page reads the credit — what the loan is doing. This one reads the demand underneath it. Office jobs pay office rent; office rent services the office loan. When the jobs go, the DSCR follows — but not for another year or two. That lag is the whole point of looking here.
Unemployment · Aug 2026
3.6% -0.2pp yr
Last 24 months
2.9%4.8%
Monthly metro unemployment (BLS LAUS) — the freshest labor signal there is, about six weeks behind. Read the direction, not the level: a 4% metro that is rising and a 6% metro that is falling are not telling you the same thing.
Jobs by CRE-relevant sector · 2024
Retail trade
28,113 jobs · +0.6% yr
Annual employment by sector (BLS QCEW, 2024; 232,176 jobs in the metro). QCEW lags — it is the structural read, not the current one, and we pair it with the monthly unemployment above on purpose. Office-using sums five supersectors; where BLS withholds any one of them for disclosure, we show nothing rather than a number we know is too low — so a missing sector here means “suppressed at the source,” not “zero.”
Sector Heat — CMBS distress rate by property type (metro vs national)See the loans behind the bar →
Fewer than 3 loans here are distressed, too few for a distress rate to mean anything — so there is no rate to test against this metro's property mix. 0 of 1 property types here run a higher distress rate than the national average for that type (the tick on each bar).
Multifamily
0.0% metro · 7.9% US · $160M
Maturity Wall — CMBS coming due by year, distress within eachSee what’s maturing →
$32M — 7% of the metro's balance — matures within two years; the red slice of each bar is already distressed.
2028
$32M · 2 loans · 0.0%
2029
$195M · 4 loans · 0.0%
2031
$88M · 6 loans · distress not reported
2032
$156M · 12 loans · 0.0%
Distress Trend — is this market turning?Track it quarter by quarter →
Too few loans here are distressed for a quarterly rate to be a rate, so no direction is stated. The quarters that can be read are shown below.
Same definition as the cards above — distressed means in special servicing or 60+ days delinquent, dollar-weighted — on a different clock. The cards are today’s tape; this is the disclosed history panel, quarter by quarter, so you can read direction rather than level. Trusts file monthly, so a quarter is usually well covered within weeks of opening and the newest one shown is normally the current one; it is withheld only when its filed book falls below 60% of recent quarters.
Share of the metro’s CMBS in special servicing or 60+ days delinquent, by quarter — a firmer, backward-looking read. A loan under 1.0x DSCR that is still paying is not counted here.
Submarket Heat — where in the metro the distress sitsOpen the submarket →
The top three submarkets hold $338M of the metro's $471M; each bar's colored share is its distress rate.
Downtown Lexington
$154M · 0.0%
Hamburg
$116M · 0.0%
Beaumont / Harrodsburg Road
$68M · distress not reported
Nicholasville / Jessamine County
$67M · 0.0%
Winchester
$37M · 0.0%
Georgetown / Scott County
$29M · 0.0%
Bank Door — what the local bank sector could absorbSee it on every loan’s exit read →
$32M of CMBS matures here within two years. The 22 regional and local banks that gather deposits here could write roughly $965M more CRE before the 300% supervisory line, so the maturing balance is 0.03× that room. The median metro sits at 0.13×.
Regional Bank Room
$965M
After Committed Draws
$515M / −47%
Maturing ÷ Room
0.03×
Banks In Footprint
22 / 0 at the line
The room above is already part-sold. Construction lending is a promise drawn down over two or three years, and the undrawn part is an obligation the bank cannot decline while the borrower performs — every one of those dollars lands in the same CRE book the 300% line governs. These banks have $845M of construction committed and not yet advanced, of which $450M comes out of the room above, leaving $515M, with 5 banks whose entire remaining room is spoken for. A bank with no room contributes zero here, never a negative one — capacity does not net across balance sheets — so $395M of what has been promised is not deducted at all, because there is nothing left to deduct it from. On today’s capital that is funding already contracted which would cross the line as it draws. SR 06-26 draws a second line at 100% of capital for construction and land: 9 more cross it once their own commitments fund.
Counted — 22 regional & local CRE lenders
BankDeposit shareCRE / Capital*Room contributedNoncurrent CRE
Community Trust Bank, Inc. KY 16.4% 165%
total 206%
🔒 0.39%
Central Bank & Trust Co. KY 76.8% 261%
total 333%
🔒 0.01%
Republic Bank & Trust Company KY 7.9% 125%
total 186%
🔒 0.25%
Whitaker Bank KY 25.6% 133%
total 218%
🔒 0.15%
Traditional Bank, Inc. KY 62.5% 267%
total 332%
🔒 0.04%
City National Bank Of West Virginia WV 8.7% 206%
total 241%
🔒 0.30%
Stock Yards Bank & Trust Company KY 8.5% 248%
total 359%
🔒 0.20%
The Farmers Bank KY 100.0% 145%
total 178%
🔒 0.00%
First Southern National Bank KY 11.8% 147%
total 212%
🔒 0.14%
Independence Bank Of Kentucky KY 4.3% 160%
total 243%
🔒 0.05%
Bank Of Lexington, Inc. KY 100.0% 258%
total 305%
🔒 0.00%
Peoples Exchange Bank KY 58.5% 246%
total 359%
🔒 0.00%
Bank Of The Bluegrass And Trust Company KY 100.0% 256%
total 383%
🔒 0.06%
Forcht Bank, National Association KY 9.4% 249%
total 329%
🔒 0.00%
Citizens Bank Of Kentucky, Inc. KY 2.5% 121%
total 191%
🔒 0.39%
The Citizens National Bank Of Somerset KY 3.1% 151%
total 184%
🔒 0.00%
Peoples Bank Of Kentucky, Inc. KY 1.9% 101%
total 134%
🔒 5.77%
South Central Bank, Inc. KY 5.5% 284%
total 387%
🔒 0.15%
Cumberland Valley National Bank & Trust Company KY 3.5% 261%
total 378%
🔒 0.03%
The Monticello Banking Company KY 2.2% 258%
total 347%
🔒 0.00%
The First National Bank Of Manchester KY 0.6% 207%
total 306%
🔒 0.62%
The Farmers National Bank Of Danville KY 0.0% 187%
total 257%
🔒 1.25%
Not counted — 13 banks with deposits here
These hold deposits in this metro but are left out of the capacity above, because for them deposit location stops indicating where they lend — or they do not lend CRE at all. Real money that could refinance here is deliberately not counted.
no CRE book — CRE under 100% of capital — not a CRE lender
Jpmorgan Chase Bank, National Association OH · Fifth Third Bank, National Association OH · Pnc Bank, National Association DE · Bank Of America, National Association NC · Truist Bank NC · U.s. Bank National Association OH · Guardian Savings Bank OH · The Home Savings And Loan Company Of Kenton, Ohio, Dba Hslc OH
national — operates in more than 5 states, so deposits stop indicating where it lends
Wesbanco Bank, Inc. WV · Peoples Bank OH · Old National Bank IN · Woodforest National Bank TX · Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Company VA
* Two ratios, two perimeters. The large figure is supervisory CRE over total risk-based capital — construction, multifamily and non-owner-occupied nonfarm nonresidential. That is the book SR 06-26 draws its 300% line against, and it is what the red coloring and the room contributed are both measured on. Total beneath it adds owner-occupied CRE — lending to a business on its own premises — which the guidance deliberately leaves out. A bank can sit well above 300% on total CRE and still be inside the line, with real room to lend; both are shown so the gap is visible rather than surprising.
How to read this. It is not whether any particular loan can refinance — a borrower also reaches national banks, life companies, agencies and debt funds. It is how much of this metro’s maturing volume the local bank sector could absorb if it were the only door. Banks are placed by deposit share (FDIC Summary of Deposits, June 2026) — a proxy for where they lend, not a measurement; call reports carry no collateral geography. Room = 3× total risk-based capital less CRE held (SR 06-26, the capital base the rule names — not book equity), from Q2 2026 call reports, apportioned by that share. Committed construction comes from FFIEC Schedule RC-L as filed at 2026-06-30 — the undrawn half of loans already written, which the balance sheet above does not show. Banks in more than 5 states, single-branch bookers and banks that do not lend CRE are excluded — 315 banks holding $263.8B of national capacity not counted here.
Local Lenders — banks headquartered here, worst CRE noncurrent firstUnlock each bank’s early-warning flag →
BankTotal CRECRE / Capital*Noncurrent CREEarly Warning
Whitaker Bank $550M 133%
total 218%
0.15% 🔒
Bank Of The Bluegrass And Trust Company $169M 256%
total 383%
0.06% 🔒
Central Bank & Trust Co. $1.8B 261%
total 333%
0.01% 🔒
Forcht Bank, National Association $492M 249%
total 329%
0.00% 🔒
Peoples Exchange Bank $223M 246%
total 359%
0.00% 🔒
Bank Of Lexington, Inc. $146M 258%
total 305%
0.00% 🔒
The Farmers Bank $57M 145%
total 178%
0.00% 🔒
* Two ratios, two perimeters. The large figure is supervisory CRE over total risk-based capital — construction, multifamily and non-owner-occupied nonfarm nonresidential. That is the book SR 06-26 draws its 300% line against, and it is what the red coloring and the room contributed are both measured on. Total beneath it adds owner-occupied CRE — lending to a business on its own premises — which the guidance deliberately leaves out. A bank can sit well above 300% on total CRE and still be inside the line, with real room to lend; both are shown so the gap is visible rather than surprising.
Banks are matched to their HQ metro (a proxy for footprint). Noncurrent CRE = CRE-balance-weighted blend of multifamily / nonresidential / construction noncurrent (distress already arrived). Early Warning is a validated leading signal — the bank’s 30-89 early-delinquency rank among all CRE lenders this quarter, which has predicted ~2.3× forward CRE distress. Per-bank flags are on a plan.
On The Ground — recent closures, layoffs & CRE bankruptciesTie these events to loans →
10 local distress events in the past year (1,975 jobs) — store closures, layoffs, and commercial real estate bankruptcies near this metro's collateral.
2026-09-14
LAYOFF
Lexington Herald-Leader
Lexington
2026-08-15
LAYOFF
Vestis
32 jobs · Fayette
2026-07-31
CLOSURE
Lexington Thai restaurant
Lexington
2026-07-15
CLOSURE
Kentucky Branded
Lexington
2026-07-06
CLOSURE
Goodfellas
Lexington
2026-06-30
LAYOFF
Aramark Campus, LLC
923 jobs · Fayette
2026-06-30
LAYOFF
UK HealthCare-HIV Program Operations (KIRP)
61 jobs · Fayette
2026-06-30
LAYOFF
University of Kentucky College of Medicine, Department of Behavioral Science
36 jobs · Fayette
2026-06-30
LAYOFF
Aramark Campus, LLC (University of Kentucky)
923 jobs · Fayette
2025-12-02
CLOSURE
Petland
Lexington
2025-08-04
CLOSURE
Chuck E. Cheese
Lexington
2016-05-25
LAYOFF
Lexmark International Inc
143 jobs · Fayette
2016-05-15
LAYOFF
Hearth & Home Technologies
229 jobs · Bourbon
2015-09-05
LAYOFF
RR Donnelley
91 jobs · Scott
2015-06-29
LAYOFF
Quality Manufacturing, Inc.
62 jobs · Clark

What has actually happened on the ground in Lexington-Fayette, KY recently?

Over the trailing 365 days in Lexington-Fayette, KY, the vetted readings show 6 WARN notices, 4 store closures, and 1,975 jobs affected, alongside 0 CRE bankruptcies — though that last figure is a STATE PROXY — a court case counts in its filing district and an SEC 8-K in the filer's state, not where the property is, so this counts CRE-likely filings in the states this metro's collateral sits in. It is not a metro-native count. Each court case is counted once even when both PACER and CourtListener carry it. A court case's state is its filing district; an SEC 8-K or news item carries the filer's state. Coverage widened to both court feeds on 2026-09-16, so counts before and after that date are not comparable. Note also that affected_employees is nullable — notices that state no headcount are counted but contribute 0 jobs, so this is a floor, and closures are matched ZIP -> CBSA and only APPROVED rows count (a pending, machine-extracted row is not yet a closure). This mirrors the Metro Pulse page, not the convergence board — the board applies neither filter and counts higher. Layoffs take the same ZIP -> CBSA and review treatment, and a WARN notice counts if it affects >= 10 people or does not state a headcount (a NULL is not 'fewer than 10').

The figures behind this answer
Store closures
4
WARN layoff notices
6
Jobs on those notices
1,975
CRE-related bankruptcies
0
Window, in days
365
STATE PROXY — a court case counts in its filing district and an SEC 8-K in the filer's state, not where the property is, so this counts CRE-likely filings in the states this metro's collateral sits in. It is not a metro-native count. Each court case is counted once even when both PACER and CourtListener carry it. A court case's state is its filing district; an SEC 8-K or news item carries the filer's state. Coverage widened to both court feeds on 2026-09-16, so counts before and after that date are not comparable.
affected_employees is nullable — notices that state no headcount are counted but contribute 0 jobs, so this is a floor.
Closures are matched ZIP -> CBSA and only APPROVED rows count (a pending, machine-extracted row is not yet a closure). This mirrors the Metro Pulse page, not the convergence board — the board applies neither filter and counts higher. Layoffs take the same ZIP -> CBSA and review treatment, and a WARN notice counts if it affects >= 10 people or does not state a headcount (a NULL is not 'fewer than 10').
Written from the figures above · CBSA 30460 · geo_events · last changed 27 Sep 2026 · Ask your own question →
What this page can’t do
Everything above is a snapshot — one market, as it stands today, and it’s yours to read. What a snapshot can’t tell you is when it moves: which loan slipped a DSCR band this month, which bank’s early-warning rank crossed into the top quartile, which submarket started turning while the headline number still looked fine. Distress doesn’t announce itself on the day you happen to check.
This page
One metro · one moment · you come looking.
Verstavo
Every metro · every month · it comes looking for you.
Watch this market → Or see 40 years of it first →
CMBS covers the securitized slice of CRE; bank, closure and layoff signals widen the view. “No data” in a zone means we don’t observe it here, not that there is no stress. Employment is BLS (QCEW annual, LAUS monthly) — public data, and the demand leg under all of it.
See the whole picture, not just the pulse.
Metro Pulse is the free, public read — one page for every market we cover. The platform goes loan‑by‑loan inside it: which buildings carry the stress, when their debt comes due, and your own portfolio benchmarked against the market you are standing in.
Get started free → Sign in No credit card required