Home ›
Banks › Northern State Bank of Thief River Falls
Northern State Bank of Thief River Falls
Thief River Fall, MN · FDIC cert 15286
· class NM
· primary regulator FDIC
· charter STATE
· holding company Gato Holdings Inc
total assets $550mn
· band $300mn-1bn
· established 1935
· Call Report 2026Q2 · branches from the 2025 Summary of Deposits
The public record, as the regulator reads it. Every number on this page is from an FDIC filing
or a public loan-level tape; every line is the regulator's own; nothing is scored, summed or graded.
This bank is over neither of SR 06-26's two criteria.
The lines · 2026Q2 Call Report
SR 06-26 (the 2006 interagency guidance on CRE concentrations), the Prompt Corrective Action capital lines
(12 CFR 324.403) on the filer's own basis, and the FDIC's brokered-deposit line (12 CFR 327.16). A value on the far
side of its line is colored; that is the whole of what a crossed line means here.
| line | this bank | the line | the rule |
| Investor CRE / total risk-based capital |
22% total 98% |
≥ 300% |
construction, multifamily and non-owner-occupied nonfarm nonresidential over total risk-based capital — the first half of criterion 2; owner-occupied excluded, as the guidance excludes it. "Total" beneath adds it back. |
| Construction & land loans / capital |
7.5% |
≥ 100% |
construction, land development and other land loans over total risk-based capital — criterion 1 of the 2006 interagency guidance |
| CRE book growth, 36 months |
15.8% |
≥ 50% |
the supervisory CRE book (owner-occupied excluded) against the same bank twelve quarters earlier — the second half of criterion 2, which the 300% line alone does not state |
| Total risk-based capital ratio |
26.2% |
< 10% |
total risk-based capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 10%, adequately at 8%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported |
| Tier 1 risk-based capital ratio |
25.0% |
< 8% |
tier 1 capital over risk-weighted assets; well capitalized at 8%, adequately at 6%. A CBLR filer reports none and is printed as not reported |
| Tier 1 leverage ratio |
9.9% |
< 5% |
tier 1 capital over average assets; well capitalized at 5% for a risk-based filer, and the CBLR framework's own 9% line for a leverage-only filer |
| Brokered deposits / assets |
0.0% |
≥ 10% |
brokered deposits over total assets; above 10% they begin to count in the FDIC's assessment formula (12 CFR 327.16) |
Criterion 1 is construction at or above 100% of capital:
not over.
Criterion 2 is BOTH halves — investor CRE at or above 300% of capital AND the book grown 50% or more in 36 months
(from the tape's own quarter, 2023Q2):
not over.
Capital is read on the risk-based basis this bank files on.
Its market · branches as of 30 June 2025
No branch of this bank sits inside a metro the tape covers: 3 branches, none in any of the 393 metros of the CRE spine.
3 branches, all outside the metros the public loan-level tape reads. There is no market read to print for this bank, and none is allocated.
Peers · the same asset band
Every cohort is inside an asset band ($300mn-1bn), because size moves the concentration ratios more than anything else does. A position is an interval —
the share of the cohort below this bank and the share at or below it differ by the tie — and below 10 banks nothing is ranked.
$300mn-1bn, nationally
1,438 banks
Investor CRE / capital
5th pct
77 below · 1 at the same value · 1,357 above
Construction / capital
12th pct
175 below · 1 at the same value · 1,259 above
this bank has branches and none of them is inside a metro area
Of the 1,438 banks in the $300mn-1bn band nationally, over each line:
Construction at or above 100% of capital — criterion 1 — 142 of 1,435 (9.9%); CRE at or above 300% of capital — 166 of 1,435 (11.6%); ... and the book grew 50% or more in 36 months — criterion 2 — 45 of 1,435 (3.1%); Over either criterion — 169 of 1,435 (11.8%); Total risk-based capital below 10% (risk-based filers) — 2 of 822 (0.2%); Tier 1 risk-based capital below 8% (risk-based filers) — 1 of 822 (0.1%); Tier 1 leverage below 5% (risk-based filers) — 0 of 822 (0.0%); Tier 1 leverage below 9% (CBLR filers) — 13 of 613 (2.1%); Below a well-capitalized line, on the filer's own basis — 15 of 1,435 (1.0%); Brokered deposits at or above 10% of assets — 131 of 1,435 (9.1%).
What moves faster than the Call Report
The metro tape
no metro to read
the forward watch, the special-servicing narratives and the WARN feed are cut by metro, and this bank has no branch in one the tape reads. The national book is the door.door
The four bank lenses
Franchise · Strain · Mark · Consolidation
every bank against every line, the franchise gradient, the mark on the book, the consolidation clock — this bank placed on each.door
Watch dossier
none
no watch dossier has been written for this bank; the absence is a fact about the watchlist, not about the bank.
Boundaries
- The Call Report carries no collateral geography. The footprint is where the branches are (FDIC Summary of Deposits, 30 June 2025), not where the loans are.
- The regulator's lines are absolute (SR 06-26, 12 CFR 324.403, 12 CFR 327.16) and read on the 2026Q2 Call Report; the 36-month growth is from the tape's own quarter, 2023Q2.
- Owner-occupied commercial real estate is excluded from criterion 2, as SR 06-26 excludes it.
- The Hotspots cell is a relative cut — the top quartile of the 294 metros with both readings on each lens (snapshot 2026-09-15) — not a line of any regulator's.
- A capital ratio is read on the filer's own basis (risk-based); a CBLR filer reports no risk-based ratio and none is inferred.
- This page is rebuilt nightly from stored filings; generated 2026-09-16. Banks under the Call Report tape's $100mn floor have no page.
See the whole picture, not just the pulse.
Metro Pulse is the free, public read. The Verstavo platform goes loan‑by‑loan — stress
scores, maturity walls, special‑servicing transfers, bank CRE, and your own portfolio benchmarked
against the market.